The board's server will undergo upgrade maintenance tonight, Nov 5, 2014, beginning approximately around 10 PM ET. Prepare for some possible down time during this process.
FAQ    Search

Board index » Word on the Street » Release

Post subject: The Self, The Act, and The Illusion: The Art of TheJambi
PostPosted: Fri October 18, 2013 1:42 pm 
Rank This Poster

Since you all are gracious enough to share your creations here, I thought I would do the same.

My real name is Phil Scally. I am from Detroit, MI but currently reside across state in Grand Rapids. In 2009, I graduated from Kendall College of Art and Design with a Bachelors of Fine Arts (drawing emphasis with a minor in printmaking). I continued on at Kendall and received a Masters of Fine Arts this past May.

My work is very existential in its nature. I suppose the important thing to know when looking at my drawings is that there is no wrong way to look at them. I am a firm believer that, as the artist, I am entitled to have my own interpretations and expectations that are independent from what the viewer may experience. It does not mean I don't care what someone has to say, It's quite the opposite. I find the conversation the most rewarding part of the artistic process. I may add more to this post as I go but this should be an adequate starting point.

I'm not quite sure what my expectations are with this thread but I am open to any and all: questions, criticisms, discussions, ideas, clarifications, etc.

Post subject: Re: The Self, The Act, and The Illusion: The Art of TheJambi
PostPosted: Fri October 18, 2013 1:46 pm 
Rank This Poster

I have been on a slight hiatus after graduating in May but ere are some shots from my MFA Thesis Exhibition Of Being:

PostPosted: Fri October 18, 2013 2:05 pm 
post-structuralist

awesome work . I'll be back later with questions, comments and complete envy

Spoiler: show
people change. people stay the same. people are so often disappointing - random PM, person unnamed