The board's server will undergo upgrade maintenance tonight, Nov 5, 2014, beginning approximately around 10 PM ET. Prepare for some possible down time during this process.
FAQ    Search

Board index » Help, Help » Technical Support




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: car stereos
PostPosted: Sun December 08, 2013 3:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar
The worst
 Profile

Joined: Thu December 13, 2012 6:31 pm
Posts: 34745
Hey all

So the time has come for me to upgrade the base stereo in my car (2013 sonata). The issue i'm having is that some sounds are muted/too low in the mix compared to a better stereo, and some other parts are too loud.

Do I need to upgrade speakers, the base unit, or both?

_________________
The Sky I Scrape Gigaton Review


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: car stereos
PostPosted: Sun December 08, 2013 8:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar
Polluted
 Profile

Joined: Tue January 01, 2013 10:27 am
Posts: 8967
Location: PM me, I have everything.
I've put a new stereo in just about every car I've owned. If you're not getting an amp, the stock speakers should be fine. A double DIN will install easier, negate the need for extra mounting hardware, and look better.

Lately, I've been partial to JVC. Put one of these in this spring.

http://www.amazon.com/JVC-Mobile-Compan ... car+stereo

The stock settings leave a lot to be desired, so you have to mess with the EQ to get it to sound decent.


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: car stereos
PostPosted: Sun December 08, 2013 9:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar
The Master
 Profile

Joined: Tue January 01, 2013 2:04 pm
Posts: 56250
Location: Sector 7-G
Have you tried just EQing the stereo you have to see if it can sound any better?


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: car stereos
PostPosted: Sun December 08, 2013 10:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar
The worst
 Profile

Joined: Thu December 13, 2012 6:31 pm
Posts: 34745
cutuphalfdead wrote:
Have you tried just EQing the stereo you have to see if it can sound any better?


I gave. It's a limited eq but it doesn't help much

_________________
The Sky I Scrape Gigaton Review


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: car stereos
PostPosted: Mon December 09, 2013 12:18 am 
Offline
User avatar
F.U.B.A.R
 WWW  Profile

Joined: Wed July 03, 2013 11:21 pm
Posts: 20041
Location: Lft Craquepeau
I usually find when I'm buying a new head unit, that it's best to get speakers that are suited/matched. Usually the salesperson in the store can recommend a good 'set' for best results.

I'd go somewhere reputable though, in some stores you sometimes get a numbnuts that just recommends anything based 'maximum wattage' which really means jack shit.

_________________
Rangi Guy wrote:
So skating back to the train station after work today things went wrong.....now my skateboard is at the bottom of the harbour :(


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: car stereos
PostPosted: Mon December 09, 2013 12:31 am 
Offline
User avatar
The worst
 Profile

Joined: Thu December 13, 2012 6:31 pm
Posts: 34745
I was gonna do Atlantic stero or best buy

_________________
The Sky I Scrape Gigaton Review


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: car stereos
PostPosted: Tue December 10, 2013 3:02 am 
Offline
User avatar
The Master
 Profile

Joined: Tue January 01, 2013 2:04 pm
Posts: 56250
Location: Sector 7-G
stay away from bestbuy if you're gonna go for salesman advice as they don't know what the fuck they're talking about


Top
 
 Post subject: Re: car stereos
PostPosted: Mon December 22, 2014 6:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar
I've been POOSSTTIiiEEnngeeaahh
 Profile

Joined: Tue January 01, 2013 5:53 pm
Posts: 11192
When I play a data mp3 disc in my car it can't always read the tags. When it has this issue it just puts up some random characters like yyyrltr or something. I noticed that if a mp3 had text in the comment section and I removed it then the car stereo would be able to read the artist and song info and display it on the interface. However lately that is no longer working or at least it isn't working for this collection of songs I put to disc the other day. Some of the songs it can read and display text, others it just puts up the goobly gook even though all the tags don't have any additional info besides Artist and Song Title. I have to imagine there is some info in there that my tagging software can't see that is messing it up. I'm not expecting anyone to tell me how to get this to work since all the issues are tied up in my specific set up and the fact that I'm using old technology but I'm annoyed.


Top
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » Help, Help » Technical Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
It is currently Fri September 25, 2020 10:55 am